Skip to main content Skip to footer

Central Manitoulin Mayor and Council

Municipal council is the legislative body of a municipality or local government area. Elected every four years, the number of councillors vary depending on the size of their municipalities. Central Manitoulin elects six council members in a three-ward system and elects a Mayor at large. Wards are an electoral district, within the municipality, used in local government elections. The wards in Central Manitoulin are the original townships amalgamated in 1998. The townships of Campbell, Carnarvon and Sandfield are now the three wards that make up the Municipality of Central Manitoulin.

The councillors' powers and responsibilities are governed by the Municipal Act of Ontario.


Mayor Richard Stephens

Ward 1 - Campbell

Brian Mitchell -

Derek Stephens -

Ward 2 – Carnarvon

Dale Scott -

John Bisaillon -

Ward 3 – Sandfield

Linda Farquhar -

Rose Diebolt -

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.